GECCO 2002
Workshop Announcement and Call for Participation

Grammatical Evolution (GEWS 2002)

a Workshop of

The 2002 Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Conference (GECCO-2002)

July 9-13, 2002, New York, USA

Grammatical Evolution (GE) is an automatic programming system that can evolve programs in an arbitrary language from a binary string. GE adopts a genotype-phenotype mapping process taking as input a grammar that describes the syntax of the evolved program. In addition to the grammar, the search algorithm (the standard has been a variable-length genetic algorithm) is also a 'plug-in' component of the system. The workshop will address all aspects of GE including foundations, extensions, analysis and applications.

Workshop Deadlines

Paper submission: Monday March 4th, 2002
Acceptance/Rejection notification: Friday March 29th, 2002
Camera-ready copy submission: Monday April 22, 2002

Workshop Submission Instructions

Submitted papers may be up to 4 pages in length. The format style of the paper should be the standard GECCO format. Authors are requested to submit their papers in electronic form (postscript or PDF) via email to:


Tuesday July 9, 2002 (8.30am - 12.30pm)

8.30am - 8.45am

8.45am - 10.25am
Grammatical Evolution Introduction

GENR8 - Using Grammatical Evolution In A Surface Design Tool
Martin Hemberg and Una-May O'Reilly
<pdf > <Postscript > <PowerPoint >

Investigations into Memory in Grammatical Evolution
Michael O'Neill and Conor Ryan
<Postscript >

On the use of gene dependency to avoid deceptive traps
Miguel Nicolau and Conor Ryan
<Postscript >

10.25am - 10.45am

10.45am - 12.30pm

An example of the use of context-sensitive constraints in the ALP system
Maarten Keijzer and Mike Cattolico
<Postscript >

Trading Foreign Exchange Markets Using Evolutionary Automatic Programming
Tony Brabazon and Michael O'Neill
<Postscript >

How To Do Anything With Grammars
Conor Ryan and Michael O'Neill
<Postscript >

Open Discussion


Michael O'Neill
Dept. of Computer Science & Information Systems
University of Limerick
Tel: +353-61-213542
Fax: +353-61-202734

Conor Ryan
Dept. of Computer Science & Information Systems
University of Limerick
Tel: +353-61-202755
Fax: +353-61-202734

Program Committee

Anthony Brabazon
Mike Cattolico
James Foster
Martin Hemberg
Daniel Howard
Hillol Kargupta
Maarten Keijzer
Bill Langdon
Nic McPhee
Julian F Miller
Peter Nordin
Michael O'Neill
Una-May O'Reilly
Conor Ryan
Marc Schoenauer
Michele Sebag
Peter Whigham